All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: pegasos2 2gb ram ?
PostPosted: Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 05, 2006 11:49 am
Posts: 4
hi,

Looked in mz and pegasos book for recommended ram for peg2
and the largest ram checked and tested was crucial 1GB ct12864z40b-16tfy and also other configurations with 2 sticks they should be same size and brand. so i got a pack of twin sticks 2x1gb (ct12864z40b)
but pegasos/mos only sees 1.56GB and trance goes apeshit with its cpu
usage and locks machine. any tips ? (except only using 1 stick :) )


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jun 16, 2007 7:38 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 8:46 pm
Posts: 559
Location: Paris
use only one stick ;-)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 3:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2006 6:26 am
Posts: 34
Location: Santiago, Chile
A couple of questions: did you try swapping the 2 memory sticks? Do they work individually?

Check that the chips are really equivalent as speed mismatches generally cause severe damages (not only in the Pegasos world). If you can plug them into a PC, I would try memtest86 too. You may have a defective unit.

My cent worth ;-)
Olivier


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2007 4:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun May 08, 2005 8:46 pm
Posts: 559
Location: Paris
Quote:
Check that the chips are really equivalent
it wouldn't be a problem here as he uses some twin sticks, same modules.

MorphOS won't report more than 1,5Gb (maybe it will be fixed in 2.0 ?)

Check under Linux, you should see your 2Gb.

IIRC i was also using 2Gb (2x1Gb) and had lots of compilation errors under Gentoo, everything went fine with only one stick (tried with both).


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 4:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:19 am
Posts: 271
Location: Italy/Greece
it's only my curiosity... but does PegII support DDR-266 PC2100 ECC mem sticks?

_________________
acrux _at_ linuxmail _dot_ org


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 03, 2007 6:39 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1589
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
it's only my curiosity... but does PegII support DDR-266 PC2100 ECC mem sticks?
They will work, but they are slower than standard RAM, as they have higher latencies for for reliability, on top of the fact that PC3200 RAM would run at further lower latencies at 266MHz.

The ECC feature is not used as the processor exceptions are not hooked up (the same as 36-bit addressing is not hooked up).

However the Marvell Northbridge can count ECC exceptions and you can gain statistics on it. You are free to reverse engineer how to do this on pain of voiding your warranty when you fry your board.

If you manage to install more than 2GB of RAM and coerce the firmware to configure it, too, then you can encourage the Marvell Northbridge to map it in the 36-bit address space and access it using the DMA controller. Again, on pain of voiding warranty :)

Both are documented somewhere in code online (the DMA controller has an old Linux driver by a Philip Something?) if you search hard enough.

_________________
Matt Sealey


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: pegasos2 2gb ram ?
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2007 11:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:19 am
Posts: 271
Location: Italy/Greece
Quote:
hi,

Looked in mz and pegasos book for recommended ram for peg2
and the largest ram checked and tested was crucial 1GB ct12864z40b-16tfy and also other configurations with 2 sticks they should be same size and brand. so i got a pack of twin sticks 2x1gb (ct12864z40b)
but pegasos/mos only sees 1.56GB and trance goes apeshit with its cpu
usage and locks machine. any tips ? (except only using 1 stick :) )
btw, you are lucky, i've just now bought a 1GB stick and doesn't work on peg2....

_________________
acrux _at_ linuxmail _dot_ org


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2007 7:03 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 12:41 am
Posts: 1066
I bought an 512MB RAM module a few weeks ago, and it did not work. It's a 400Mhz one. Today I put it in an old P4 and took a 333Mhz 512 MB module home, put it into my Pegasos, and it works fine. So I have now a total of 768MB of RAM in my Peg.

Maybe you will have more luck with an older module? Just a guess...

_________________
CzP
http://czanik.blogs.balabit.com/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 11, 2008 2:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:19 am
Posts: 271
Location: Italy/Greece
mmh, i've just bought a 512MB pc2700 (samsung) for our peg2, it works. I cannot add the other 256MB 'cause slot2 seems to be broken :/

_________________
acrux _at_ linuxmail _dot_ org


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2008 9:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 12:41 am
Posts: 1066
Finally I downgraded to 512MB, as using both of the modules worked for most of the time, even for compiles, but crashed the openSUSE installer all the time. And I don't want to take it out for all the installs and put it back for the rest, as sometimes I do installs more than once a day :-)

_________________
CzP
http://czanik.blogs.balabit.com/


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2008 9:11 pm 
Offline
Genesi

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1422
We shipped many ODW with 1GB in each slot. 2GB works and is still working today in many instances.

R&B :)

_________________
http://bbrv.blogspot.com


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2008 9:23 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1589
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
We shipped many ODW with 1GB in each slot. 2GB works and is still working today in many instances.

R&B :)
Caveat: you may need paired RAM and you may need a 2B5 revision board for it to work. We used Kingston kit ram with blue heatspreaders.. I think KHX3200AK2/2G is the right model.

_________________
Matt Sealey


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 01, 2008 2:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:19 am
Posts: 271
Location: Italy/Greece
i've tried a bit again.

Pegasos2 does accept both low or high density mem modules but never exceeding 512MB per rank...

then a maximum of 512MB module x slot if high density type or 1024MB module x slot if low density one.

_________________
acrux _at_ linuxmail _dot_ org


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:20 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:19 am
Posts: 271
Location: Italy/Greece
Quote:
i've tried a bit again.

Pegasos2 does accept both low or high density mem modules but never exceeding 512MB per rank...

then a maximum of 512MB module x slot if high density type or 1024MB module x slot if low density one.
but our pegasos2 (fw version 1.2 20040810112413) seems to have some problems and great instability using more than 512MB then we'll move this machine only to test peg2 iso boot kernel.

_________________
acrux _at_ linuxmail _dot_ org


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Oct 13, 2004 7:26 am
Posts: 348
Quote:
Quote:
i've tried a bit again.

Pegasos2 does accept both low or high density mem modules but never exceeding 512MB per rank...

then a maximum of 512MB module x slot if high density type or 1024MB module x slot if low density one.
but our pegasos2 (fw version 1.2 20040810112413) seems to have some problems and great instability using more than 512MB then we'll move this machine only to test peg2 iso boot kernel.
FWIW, I'm using exactly one of these (sorry, it's a greek site):

http://www.e-shop.gr/show_per.phtml?id=PER.552054

For quite some time with absolutely no problems. Using both for a total of 2GB didn't work, but one of these is fine. I still have the 2nd here as a spare but no machine to use it :)


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 31 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
PowerDeveloper.org: Copyright © 2004-2012, Genesi USA, Inc. The Power Architecture and Power.org wordmarks and the Power and Power.org logos and related marks are trademarks and service marks licensed by Power.org.
All other names and trademarks used are property of their respective owners. Privacy Policy
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group