All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 7:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:40 am
Posts: 195
Location: Pinto, Madrid, Spain
Quote:
there are other issues of where we want to PUT this MPEG code (some may be in Firmware, some userspace, some kernel).
A firmware with MPEG abilities! Now that's too much! :shock:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:11 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:24 pm
Posts: 171
Quote:
Quote:
there are other issues of where we want to PUT this MPEG code (some may be in Firmware, some userspace, some kernel).
A firmware with MPEG abilities! Now that's too much! :shock:
gotta love those RTAS, eh?

take that, EFI! : )


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 8:42 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1589
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
there are other issues of where we want to PUT this MPEG code (some may be in Firmware, some userspace, some kernel).
A firmware with MPEG abilities! Now that's too much! :shock:
gotta love those RTAS, eh?

take that, EFI! : )
Actually it will be a variant of UEFI.. which does provide certain runtime services directly equivalent to traditional RTAS.

Aura expands on that with far more functionality. At it's simplest level, in a way you'd understand, it's like bundling
CGX inside the firmware, with calls for setting up screens, finding out display information, and doing accelerated graphics calls entirely in the OS context (rather than in the firmware context, which is why RTAS and the OF CIF are not often used).

There's more to it than graphics, but the most exciting part is the graphics functionality planned. Adding video overlay (even if it's a 3D texture :) and an interface to push demuxed video streams to available decoder hardware is something that's implemented in a lot of operating systems all with very, very similar interfaces - most hardware is designed around the very same restrictions (alignment etc.)

_________________
Matt Sealey


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 11:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:39 pm
Posts: 4
Location: Valence, FRANCE
Like the BeBox which displayed a rotating 3D cube from the 2nd cpu when booting ? :lol:


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 26, 2009 2:09 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1589
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Like the BeBox which displayed a rotating 3D cube from the 2nd cpu when booting ? :lol:
Something like that :)

_________________
Matt Sealey


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 2:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:40 am
Posts: 195
Location: Pinto, Madrid, Spain
Gentlemen, it's clear that technology has gone too far!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 7:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 10:24 pm
Posts: 171
watch out, genesi, sharp is after you! : )


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:01 am
Posts: 187
Quote:
watch out, genesi, sharp is after you! : )
Quote:
The bad news... According to Freescale's Website, you might not see this product coming to the USA before September 2010, all IMX 51 or IMX515 are banned from US soil due to the United States International Trade Commission.
Is that bad news for the EfikaMX Open Client also?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 9:52 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1589
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Quote:
The bad news... According to Freescale's Website, you might not see this product coming to the USA before September 2010, all IMX 51 or IMX515 are banned from US soil due to the United States International Trade Commission.
Is that bad news for the EfikaMX Open Client also?
No, because that is not what the injunction says.

All this means is we - or Sharp - can't do a production run inside the USA because we can't take delivery of a tape reel or tray of chips of certain kinds (like the iMX515 and the power management controller) inside the USA.

I would expect Sharp does all it's production in Japan or Taiwan, as do we right now (and in any case, bplan is in Germany) :)

_________________
Matt Sealey


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Aug 27, 2009 3:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 8:01 am
Posts: 187
Ah, cant trust all news articles then. It read different to me then your explanation. Good news then.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Efika MX Open Client
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 9:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:55 am
Posts: 8
Location: UK
@BBRV

Have you considered announcing the Efika MX to the RISC OS community? I'm sure someone would love to port RISC OS to this. The Efika MX is way cheaper than the A9Home, and more powerful/complete than the Beagle Board.

http://www.drobe.co.uk/ is probably the best place to submit an announcement.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Efika MX Open Client
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 12:19 pm 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1589
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
@BBRV

Have you considered announcing the Efika MX to the RISC OS community? I'm sure someone would love to port RISC OS to this. The Efika MX is way cheaper than the A9Home, and more powerful/complete than the Beagle Board.

http://www.drobe.co.uk/ is probably the best place to submit an announcement.
Yes, it's been discussed already, we're looking for the best way to do this, and the best people to send boards to so they can go and do it.

RISCOS is really popular in the UK and the last dedicated RISCOS box (Iyonix) has been discontinued for 6 months.

If you want to post a news article that's fine. We are currently questioning the relevant companies in the UK (including Castle) about collaboration and marketing efforts, and the support they'd need to make it a reality.

_________________
Matt Sealey


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Efika MX Open Client
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Mar 29, 2007 7:55 am
Posts: 8
Location: UK
Quote:
We are currently questioning the relevant companies in the UK (including Castle) about collaboration and marketing efforts, and the support they'd need to make it a reality.
Really, really cool!

I see someone's already posted an announcement on Drobe, so I won't bother.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Efika MX Open Client
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 10:37 am 
Offline
Site Admin

Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2004 1:39 am
Posts: 1589
Location: Austin, TX
Quote:
Quote:
We are currently questioning the relevant companies in the UK (including Castle) about collaboration and marketing efforts, and the support they'd need to make it a reality.
Really, really cool!

I see someone's already posted an announcement on Drobe, so I won't bother.
Yep and from that stuff seems to be moving on a little bit too :)

_________________
Matt Sealey


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Efika MX Open Client
PostPosted: Wed Sep 02, 2009 2:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 08, 2007 3:40 am
Posts: 195
Location: Pinto, Madrid, Spain
Quote:
Quote:
I see someone's already posted an announcement on Drobe, so I won't bother.
Yep and from that stuff seems to be moving on a little bit too :)
...and those RiscOS guys are more active than us, both here and in MorphZone? I know the later is not actually related to Efika MX, but...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 43 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
PowerDeveloper.org: Copyright © 2004-2012, Genesi USA, Inc. The Power Architecture and Power.org wordmarks and the Power and Power.org logos and related marks are trademarks and service marks licensed by Power.org.
All other names and trademarks used are property of their respective owners. Privacy Policy
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group