All times are UTC-06:00




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: EFIKA Full Duplex Net
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 7:31 am 
Offline
Genesi

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 409
Location: Finland
Hi all.

I've been using the EFIKA in Full Duplex Network Mode for some time now, so I think the following should work fine (you'll have to recompile your kernel).

In the Kernel source directory, under drivers/net/fec_mpc52xx

- In the file fec.c, change
fec_restart(dev, 0);
to
fec_restart(dev, 1);

- In the file fec_phy.c, change
mk_mii_write(MII_ADVERTISE, MII_ADVERTISE_HALF)
to
mk_mii_write(MII_ADVERTISE, MII_ADVERTISE_ALL)


After recompiling, the network interface should go into full duplex mode.

Best regards,
Johan

_________________
Johan Dams, Genesi USA Inc.
Director, Software Engineering

Yep, I have a blog... PurpleAlienPlanet


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Feb 25, 2007 10:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:19 am
Posts: 271
Location: Italy/Greece
thanks, it's really interesting.



greetz,

_________________
acrux _at_ linuxmail _dot_ org


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 8:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:11 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Malaysia
Tried it, compiles and works fine.

But how can I be sure it is working in Full Duplex mode?

Kernel : 2.6.20
Distro : Debian GNU/Linux

ifconfig gives me this output :
Code:
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0B:2F:FB:63:42
inet addr:192.168.1.42 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:33090 errors:28669 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:5042 errors:5042 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:5042
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2242143 (2.1 MiB) TX bytes:6583735 (6.2 MiB)
Interrupt:133 Base address:0x3000
A lot of errors there :)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Mar 08, 2007 11:56 pm 
Offline
Genesi

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 409
Location: Finland
Hi.

The fact that there are no collisions, but also if you plug it into a decent switch which indicates the mode of the connected device.


Best regards,
Johan

_________________
Johan Dams, Genesi USA Inc.
Director, Software Engineering

Yep, I have a blog... PurpleAlienPlanet


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 4:50 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Oct 19, 2006 7:19 am
Posts: 271
Location: Italy/Greece
here works fine on 2.6.20.1 , no errors.
Code:
root@efika:~# ifconfig -v eth0
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0B:2F:FA:D5:9E
inet addr:192.168.0.27 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20b:2fff:fefa:d59e/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:37117 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:40858 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:3245831 (3.0 Mb) TX bytes:5819587 (5.5 Mb)
Interrupt:133 Base address:0x3000
i've released a patch with your suggestion:
http://www.powerdeveloper.org/forums/vi ... =7334#7334



greetz,

_________________
acrux _at_ linuxmail _dot_ org


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Feb 14, 2006 2:01 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Germany
Quote:
But how can I be sure it is working in Full Duplex mode?
you could use ethtool (output from my G5):
Code:
G5 ~ # ethtool eth0
Settings for eth0:
Supported ports: [ TP MII ]
Supported link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
Supports auto-negotiation: Yes
Advertised link modes: 10baseT/Half 10baseT/Full
100baseT/Half 100baseT/Full
1000baseT/Half 1000baseT/Full
Advertised auto-negotiation: No
Speed: 1000Mb/s
Duplex: Full
Port: MII
PHYAD: 0
Transceiver: external
Auto-negotiation: on
Supports Wake-on: g
Wake-on: d
Current message level: 0x00000007 (7)
Link detected: yes
G5 ~ #
there you can see the line Duplex: Full

-corsair


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 7:22 am 
Offline
Genesi

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2006 2:28 am
Posts: 409
Location: Finland
Hi.

ethtool and mii-tool don't work with the current implementation of the EFIKA network interface.
The driver should be rewritten to make use of the kernel PHY driver.

I'd like to do it, but I don't have the time...

Best regards,
Johan

_________________
Johan Dams, Genesi USA Inc.
Director, Software Engineering

Yep, I have a blog... PurpleAlienPlanet


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:06 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:11 pm
Posts: 22
Location: Malaysia
Ok, I missed out the


- In the file fec.c, change
fec_restart(dev, 0);
to
fec_restart(dev, 1);

first time around. Now that that is in. I don't have any error in TX anymore. But RX errors still looks "serious".

I have pluged in a 3com 3c905C-TX/TX-M PCI card into efika and enabled the drivers in kernel (as module) for it.

Plugged both interface to the same router (WRT54GS), running ddwrt. eth1 reports no error whatsoever.

(Thinking aloud)
Hmm, maybe eth0 is running in promiscuous mode.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC-06:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
PowerDeveloper.org: Copyright © 2004-2012, Genesi USA, Inc. The Power Architecture and Power.org wordmarks and the Power and Power.org logos and related marks are trademarks and service marks licensed by Power.org.
All other names and trademarks used are property of their respective owners. Privacy Policy
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group