All times are UTC-06:00

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 8:15 am 

Hi

I'm a little embarrassed to say that I'm running SUSE 10.3
still... I don't like to update while I'm in the middle of
a project and I haven't had a chance to update yet.

When I downloaded and installed QT4.4 I noticed
some of the images had inverted colourmaps when I built
my own software.

Now I am trying to finish a program in QT3 and it seems that
when reading certain data from a file I get some bizarre
values that seem to correspond to an endianness problem.
This would explain the earlier image colour problem.

According to QT I am running a big endian system. (See
documentation for QApplication::qSysInfo() to read it).
I am no expert on PPC but I read it is endian
selectable so I don't know if big endian is the correct
answer.

I don't know how it would be possible that QT could read the
wrong endianness from the OS yet all included software
has no problems... is it possible SUSE reports the "wrong"
endianness ?

thanks!

koan

PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 9:22 am 
Site Admin

Quote:
According to QT I am running a big endian system. (See documentation for QApplication::qSysInfo() to read it). I am no expert on PPC but I read it is endian selectable so I don't know if big endian is the correct answer.
Depending on the chip, it's endian-selectable. The architecture supports both ways but implementation of little-endian is sort of optional, and you need to build your kernel to support it anyway (at least, to let you select which way). If it doesn't support running in little-endian mode there are a few instructions which help in portability of data (load and automatically byteswap, and save and byteswap kind of things).

Generally, you'll run it big-endian for a lot of reasons, and the Linux kernel defaults to this.
Quote: